How the Heck Do I Read the Dragonlance Series?

Written by Chung Y Chow and Matt Haag

Page: | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 |

Read it Straight

Start by reading from where it all started, the Chronicles series. This is the first set of books written about the Dragonlance world, and is the foundation of the whole series. The introduction, if you will.

Dragons of Autumn Twilight
Dragons of Winter Night
Dragons of Spring Dawning

The 1000+ page Annotated Chronicles is a really nice book as well, since it has notes by the original design team about why they did certain things. The notes do spoil the story a little, if you have not read it, though. Also look for Annotated Legends, which Tracy Hickman promised would be forthcoming!

The Legends series is the second series written in the Dragonlance Novels. This series explores the relationship between Raistlin and Caramon, and also introduces the reader to more detail about the Cataclysm and the events immediately before and after it. This is important because the other books will reference events that happen in this series.

Time of the Twins
War of the Twins
Test of the Twins

These are the first six books that set everything in motion.

Now you step into the 5th Age. These are the two books you must read to start the 5th Age. The Second Generation gives the reader necessary background information on the children of the Heroes of the Lance; who the reader will meet in greater detail in Dragons of Summer Flame.

Page: | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 |